The Round-the-World Ticket

Round-the-world (aka RTW) is a term that has been around the travel space. In essence it means going around the world. When I hear about something like this I can’t help but think how expensive it must be. First I spend on accommodation then I need budget for food. And since I’ll want to look around I have to set aside also money for fees and transportation. Good thing though that there are ways to keep these expenses at a low or better zero. But there is that one vital expense that is inevitable. Airline tickets.

Even with the surge of budget airlines, tickets are still sold high especially in long haul flights. Seat sales have been rampant to attract passengers to take that trip and I think it did. But if it’s a round-the-world trip I don’t think it’ll even make a difference considering the fare rules they put in on that.

So if I have a 6-country-4-continent trip does that leave me no choice but take that US$6,000-7,000++ ticket? Before I would say yes or maybe encourage you to scout for trains, buses, or ships whenever possible. But I just read something great.

Round-the-world ticket

Did you know that some airlines (if not all) sell one-way tickets more expensive than round-trip ones? With this we can say that a round-the-world trip will cost us more since we have several differing flight segments. Okay so what’s a round-the-world ticket? I found out that we can purchase a single ticket that we can use on several flight plans spread to a maximum of one year. It’s not a cheap ticket but some say that their total is much cheaper rather than opting for one-way tickets. This single ticket is called a round-the-world ticket. As of the moment I only know airline alliances offer them namely: SkyTeam, Star Alliance, and Oneworld. An airline alliance is like an agreement between several airlines which makes sense they can offer round-the-world tickets.

Your round-the-world ticket doesn’t automatically make it cheaper for you. You have to carefully plan your routes such that you can maximize the use of your ticket. There are downsides and upsides so be sure to research first to know underlying conditions.

Here are some great links to get you started:

One thought on “The Round-the-World Ticket

  1. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your
    web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I were a little bit familiar of
    this your broadcast offered vibrant clear idea

Leave a Reply

