Jogjakarta and its street art

Last November I got a chance to see Jogjakarta even for a short while. From the moment I and my friend got out of the airport I immediately felt the more relaxed vibe of the city compared to the more popular Bali. Jogjakarta (also known as Yogyakarta) is found in the Java island of Indonesia and is home to the Buddhist temple Borobudur.

For some Jogja (or Java itself) is a great place for art and culture. And true enough it is evident even in the most common place – the street. A few steps from the house of our host Dee Jei we found rows of cafe with varying artsy look.

A cafe in Jogjakarta

A cafe in Jogjakarta

You can choose a place, dine or read a book without being bothered by passersby. I came from Manila where there is noise everywhere and the subtle feel of this place is so pleasant to me (although I’m not sure if it was low season when we got there thus the fewer crowds). But if partying or clubbing is your thing, I’m pretty sure there is one out there in the city you can find.

As we continued our walk down the street, a more noticeable art greeted us. Colorful expressions in the walls caught my eye!

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

These are the kind of art that excites me. The random shapes and colors are perfect for pictures!

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

Graffiti has got to be one of the misunderstood art. Being considered a vandal, authorities have ban these from public places. But amazingly Dee Jei told us that in Jogjakarta these street arts are allowed and that artists have devised amongst themselves a common decorum to avoid conflicts. I just love how they are in the streets. It makes it more ‘real’ for me.

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

Street graffiti in Jogjakarta

A graffiti artist at work

A graffiti artist at work

And since these are the artist’s expression, we will most likely get what they are feeling. Like maybe a love art for someone special.

Happy Birthday graffiti

Happy Birthday graffiti

Bright and bold even in the darkest night.

Graffiti glowing in the dark

Graffiti glowing in the dark

I miss this place. I’ll be back soon for sure.

Leave a Reply

