When I first traveled solo series: Room #205

Night bus

Photo taken by Geoff LMV

I was looking at the sleeping streets in the window on my right. A bit dazed, I told myself everyone must be under their sheets by now. The driver pulled over beside a building that looks to be closed already. Then he went down the bus and opened the cargo compartment. Ah this must be our stop.

Everyone started going down and waited for their luggage. I looked around like a confused cat thinking where should I go. Some waited on the side of the road, they must be looking for a cab.  I continued walking with the map to the hotel in my hand. Hmmm where are the signs, where is the bridge. I found myself on the other side of the building, south side I presume so I walked towards the intersection and there I found a bridge. Unsure if it was the right bridge I took my first step then the other and the other. As I was walking I saw a 7eleven at the crossing street but thought that it’s a bit far from how I understood the hotel’s word. I looked on the other side but saw no other so I decided to go down on the 7eleven side of the bridge. I walked towards it but slowly realized that no this couldn’t be it. I turned around, walked around the stairs again and there I found in a not so obvious location the 7eleven I was looking for.

I took a moment with my map again, it said to make a right in an alley then a left. So I went in. An empty alley that has an improvised observation post in the corner inside. Nobody was around only that suspiciously looking man in the post that I didn’t want to deal with at a strangely time. After a few knocks and tries on some random doors I realized there’s still a pathway if I make a turn inside. So that’s why the map said to make a left! And there the hotel’s doorstep was waiting in front of me.

I entered my access code and slowly the door opened. The reception was empty, even the common room empty. It felt strange like someone breaking in but it also felt like going home late to your house while everybody is sleeping.

Room #205 that is my room and when I came in everything was ready.

One thought on “When I first traveled solo series: Room #205

  1. Pingback: When I first traveled solo series: End of the line | Why Stopover?

Leave a Reply

